INTERNATIONAL ASSOCIATION OF LAW LIBRARIES



IALL Scholarships Committee 2016 Annual Report

The current members of the Committee are: David Gee (Institute of Advanced Legal Studies), Board Member (Chair); Kurt Carroll (Library of Congress), IALL Treasurer; Lilia Echiverri (University of the Philippines Law Library), Board Member; Barbara Garavaglia (University of Michigan), IALL Secretary; Ivo Vogel (Head of Scientific Information Service for International and Interdisciplinary Legal Research, Staatsbibliothek zu Berlin), Board Member.

This year the Committee advertised three Regular Bursaries which were available to both members and non-members. The Committee also advertised (for a second time) the new benefit for Individual (formerly Personal) members of IALL, the Members-Only Bursary. This relatively new bursary award is available to Individual members of IALL who have been dues-paying Individual members for the current year and the two immediately preceding years. IALL advertised four Members-Only bursaries this year.

In view of the increasing costs of international travel, the Committee also gained approval from the IALL Board to increase the maximum bursary amount for each Regular Bursary and each Members-Only Bursary from US\$1,500 to US\$2,000. The Members-Only Bursaries, like the Regular Bursaries, are to help defray the cost of attending IALL's annual course.

The Scholarships Committee (with the assistance of Michael Lindsey at the University of California, Berkeley) continued to offer the online bursary application forms via the IALL website for both bursaries. The online forms worked well again and the few technical issues that arose during the application period (these were mostly firewall issues) were quickly resolved by Mike Lindsey.

As usual, bursary applications were encouraged and both types of bursary were widely advertised. For example, messages were put up on the IALL Facebook page and on the IALL blog, three encouraging emails were sent to all IALL members and announcements and reminders were sent to a number of regional law library lists by members of the IALL Board.

The Committee was very pleased to receive 29 scholarship applications for the Regular Bursaries for the Oxford Conference. The following countries were represented: Argentina (1 applicant); Australia (4 applicants); Cameroon (1 applicant); Canada (2 applicants); Germany (1 applicant); Hong Kong (1 applicant); India (1 applicant); Ireland (1 applicant); Kenya (2 applicants); Nigeria (1 applicant); Philippines 3 applicants); South Africa (3 applicants); Uganda (1 applicant); United Kingdom (1 applicant); United States (5 applicants); Zimbabwe (1 applicant). As in previous years, the pool of applicants was strong and competitive. Committee members reviewed and discussed the applications via email. The Committee selected 3 Regular Bursary winners for the Oxford Conference:

- Mr, Holger Aman, Reference Librarian (currently Acting Manager) from NSW Department of Justice Law Courts Library, Sydney, Australia.
- Ms. Jennifer Findlay, Librarian to the Supreme Courts of Scotland, Edinburgh, Scotland.
- Ms. Vivian A. Lirio, Law Librarian, Adamson University, Manila, Philippines.

The Committee was also pleased to award 3 Members-Only Bursaries in the second year of this new Individual member benefit. The recipients of the Members-Only bursaries for the Oxford Conference were:

 Ms. Juliene Grant, Reference Librarian / Foreign and International Research Specialist from Loyola University Chicago School of Law Library, USA

- Ms. Alison Shea, Reference Librarian / Foreign and International Research Specialist from Fordham University School of Law, New York, USA
- Ms. Alex Zhang, Senior Associate Librarian, University of Michigan Law Library, USA

The amounts awarded for both categories of bursary were based on the budget estimates for the accommodation and travel costs submitted by each applicant and were within the overall maximum of US\$2,000 per bursary. The bursary awards also included gratis registration for the conference and optional day. The winners of the Regular bursaries were also awarded free IALL Individual membership for one calendar year beginning 1st January 2017.

David Gee Chair, IALL Scholarships Committee Institute of Advanced Legal Studies, University of London, UK 15th July 2016