INTERNATIONAL ASSOCIATION OF LAW LIBRARIES



IALL Scholarships Committee 2013 Annual Report

The current members of the Committee are: Barbara Garavaglia (University of Michigan), IALL Secretary (Chair); Lilia Echiverri (University of the Philippines Law Library), Board Member; Ligita Gjortlere (Riga Graduate School of Law), Board Member; Xinh Luu (University of Virginia), IALL Treasurer; Jules Winterton (Institute of Advanced Legal Studies), Immediate Past President.

This past year the Committee completed its revision of the Internship webpage by clarifying eligibility and selection guidelines and by adding wording to indicate that internships of short duration are eligible for consideration and that applicants are responsible for making firm internship arrangements before applying. These modifications were incorporated into IALL's new webpage. The IALL Board decided to suspend the Internship program for 2013 and 2014 in order to fund additional scholarships to enable librarians from Spain to attend the Barcelona conference and those from Argentina to attend that conference.

The Committee also reworded the Scholarship page for the redesigned IALL website and announced the availability of special bursaries for librarians from Spain.

The Committee received 13 scholarship applications for the Barcelona conference. The following countries were represented: Australia (2 applicants); Canada (1 applicant); India (1 applicant); Nigeria (1 applicant); Spain (4 applicants); UK (2 applicants); U.S.A. (2 applicants).

Committee members reviewed and discussed the applications via email. The decision-making process again worked smoothly and the Committee selected three winners of the regular bursaries: Mr. Eugene D. Hsue from the Temple University Beasley School of Law Library, Philadelphia, Pennsylvania U.S.A.; Ms. Abiola O. Oyewo from the Igbinedion University, Okada, Edo State Nigeria; and Mr. Akash Singh from the National Law University, Delhi, New Delhi India. The amounts awarded for the usual bursaries were based on the budget estimates submitted by each applicant. The bursary awards also include gratis registration for the conference, optional day and other conference events. This year's recipients all received the maximum award of USD\$1500.

The Committee was pleased to award special bursaries to all four applicants from Spain: Mr. David Aznar from the Biblioteca de la Universidad de Navarra, Pamploma, Navarra; Ms. Marta Balbuena Alvarez from the University of Cantabria Law, Economics and Business Library, Cantabria; Ms. María García-Sánchez from the Archivera-Bibliotecaria de las Cortes Generales, Spanish Parliament/Upper Chamber, Madrid; and Ms. Noemí Cué Pérez from the University of Cantabria Law, Economics and Business Library, Cantabria. These awards also include gratis registration for the conference, optional day and other conference events.

Barbara Garavaglia, Chair Scholarships Committee Ann Arbor, Michigan USA 26 August 2013